SPT40 (Cassette)

200 copies pressed on black shell. Includes download code.

1. It’s Not Over
2. Shot Thru
3. Wanted
4. Pretender
5. Won’t Go Away
6. Don’t Know What Else to Do
7. Tired of Romance

1. I Didn’t Need You to Know
2. What They Say
3. Oh Well
4. Might as Well
5. Romeo
6. Verlaine

LP available from DIG! Records

HEY YOU! Get a whiff of this: Scratch ‘N’ Sniff by The Whiffs — the second album by Kansas City’s foremost power pop foursome is upon us via SLUDGE PEOPLE cassette. Not unlike their first album (Another Whiff), and as rock critic Jon Harrison heralds in the album’s liner notes: “This sophomoric offering provides all of the things you love about The Whiffs.” … Now, if you’re asking yourself ‘What do I love about the Whiffs’? Here’s a clue: SONGS. You love The Whiffs’ songs! And now Scratch ‘N’ Sniff’s got 13 new boffo numbers brimming with the hook-laden, never-far-from-the-bar pub-rock snarl The Whiffs nail every time.

The Whiffs are less recording artists than a band of journeymen, from the drums Jake Cardwell (C&C Drum Co.) built-by-hand, to Joey Rubbish’s home recording studio (Club Sandwich). It’s only natural Scratch ‘N’ Sniff is a homegrown production from the floor (tom) up, and was recorded in the band’s living room. The songs are all their own too. Whether penned by Cameron (Rory), Campbell (Zach) or Rubbish (Joey), they all stink of The Whiffs broken-in power pop confectionery. A close listen will reveal the cracks of many-a-can and roommates laughing at vocal takes. As such, everyone’s invited to Scratch ‘N’ Sniff and dive in!

Released: April 28, 2023



The Whiffs – Another Whiff (Cassette)