SPT45 (Cassette)

50 copies pressed on clear shell. Includes download code.

1. Artistic Vision
2. Leather Gunn
3. Duplicating Satan
4. Crusader of Coles
5. The Butcher
6. Jetlagging

1. King’s Gambit
2. Phone Alone
3. Clear as Paint
4. Party Time
5. Bite My Tongue

One of the most familiar faces in the busy Melbourne music scene; Jake Robertson (who you may remember from such class acts as Ausmuteants, Hierophants, School Damage, et al) returns in full-fledged form with another unruly record from his solo alter-ego ALIEN NOSEJOB.

Thirteen months on since the hardcore-punk inspired concept album, “Once Again the Present Becomes the Past”, Alien Nosejob turns the ship back to front and sails in a new direction, yet again. Paint It Clear mixes sounds of classic 80’s new wave and post-punk whilst sprinkling in the occasional disco track on top. But don’t let these descriptions throw you off – it still carries Robertson’s classic screech of cheeky yet witty lyrics and sharp songwriting hooks. After three home-recorded records prior to this, Mikey Young has finally been phoned in to take over the production controls and breathes a whole new way of life into Alien Nosejob. Never before has ANJ been heard in such fidelity. The clarity! The definition! The dynamics! It all shines brighter than ever before resulting in a record that Robertson’s “parents could actually listen to”.

There’s a little something for everyone; whether it be 80’s Cure-inspired synths in Duplicating Satan, the robust Devo-like feel of Leather Gunn, the sing-along chorus of Crusader of Coles, or the melodic, minor closer that is Bite My Tongue. There’s even The Butcher; a piano ballad inspired by the Fun Boy Three, showcasing Jake’s skills as not just a songwriter, but a damn fine singer. Paint It Clear is Alien Nosejob’s fourth full length record since 2018 – it certainly proves he a nose for these things.

Released: Summer 2024



Smarts – Who Needs Smarts, Anyway? (Cassette)
SPT28 Alien Nosejob – Once Again the Present Becomes the Past (Cassette)
SPT17 Alien Nosejob – Suddenly Everything Is Twice as Loud (Cassette)